Today’s Woman Warrior: Arlene Ajello

Posted: May 25, 2012 in Contributors, Patrol Officer, Posts, Retired
Tags: , , , , , ,
Chicago Police Department

Chicago Police Department (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

What is your name and department/agency?

Arlene Ajello, Chicago Police Department.

Please give us a little background about yourself, i.e., family, education, hobbies, etc.

I am the mother of a beautiful 23-year-old daughter. My passions, other than being a mother, were my job as a Chicago Police Officer and as an equestrian. I am a native New Yorker who comes from an Italian family—a cop family. I worked on Wall Street for many years until my dream of being a Chicago Police Officer came to fruition.

When and why did you decide to become involved in law enforcement?

I knew from a very young age I wanted to be in law enforcement. My father, an NYPD officer with over 20 years on the job, made an impact on me. His silent duty, honor and loyalty to the job and our family were infectious. I wanted to be just like Dad and make my family proud.

What is your present assignment?

Enjoying retirement.

What did you like most about your job?

Knowing every day I had a chance to make a difference on whomever I came in contact with, the camaraderie of my partners and teams I worked on, the thrill of the hunt,and the satisfaction of knowing I made a difference, even in the smallest of ways. Also, knowing each day was different and challenging was something I was always up for.

What did you like least about your job?

Nothing.

How did your family feel about you being in law enforcement?

Surprisingly, they were disappointed at first. They said a woman didn’t belong slinging a gun. However, they warmed to the idea over time, and my father finally congratulated me and said, “Job well done.”

Do you think the consensus is that law enforcement is a man’s job? If so, did you had difficulty being accepted as an equal?

Yes that is the consensus. At times there were major hurdles to overcome, and at times the women had to prove more than any man on the job did. Often my female counterparts and I felt like we were swimming against the tide of a male dominated world. But for me, I felt it backfired on them. It made me stronger, made me work even harder, and it made me a BETTER officer. I thank those who tried to show me there was a “glass ceiling and double standard” for women. It certainly helped my career, and I was able to pass it along to the younger females coming on the job to better their careers..

What would you like the public to know about your job?

The job is great! When I got in the squad car, I couldn’t believe they paid me for doing something I loved so much.

If you had to do it over again, would you choose law enforcement as a career?

OH YES!!!

Is there anything else you would like to add or share?

I would like to thank John M. Wills for giving me this opportunity to share my story in his book. I would like to commend him and thank him for his service and dedication to the job, his family and God. He is truly an inspiration and role model for so many people.

Comments
  1. Cathy Nelson says:

    Great interview! I never knew it was a lifelong dream, but I admire the dedication you put into it, Arlene.

  2. thebronze says:

    Thanks for a great story about my friend Arlene. She’s an awesome woman. I’d partner up with her ANYTIME!

    Steve J.

  3. Lowell says:

    Outstanding… Arlene is clearly an inspiration to an entire new age of female LEO’s!

Leave a comment