Today’s Women Warriors Contributor: Rev. Jan Heglund

Posted: May 7, 2012 in Chaplain, Contributors, FBI, Posts
Tags: , , , ,
Saint Rafael Church in San Rafael, CA taken fr...

Saint Rafael Church in San Rafael, CA taken from 4th and A streets, facing north. The church is often mistaken for the San Rafael Mission, which was destroyed. The small building under the palm tree is a rebuilt version of the mission’s chapel. The church is one of Marin County’s most recognizable landmarks and serves as a symbol for the city. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

What is your name and department/agency?

The Rev. Jan Heglund, San Rafael, California. I am a Chaplain with the San Francisco Division of the FBI, and San Rafael, CA PD.

Please give us a little background about yourself, i.e., family, education, hobbies, etc.

I attended the Episcopal Deacon Seminary when I was working full-time, had four children at home and had started my police chaplaincy.  I have by BA in Theological Studies, run 5 miles a day and absolutely love what I do and the agencies and many non-profits I serve.

When and why did you decide to become involved in law enforcement?

Seventeen years ago; I saw an ad in the local paper stating the police department was starting a chaplaincy program—bells went off!

What is your present assignment?

Chaplain assigned to the San Francisco Division, FBI. I am also a chaplain with the Center for Domestic Peace; International Footprint Association, North Bay Chapter #15; Board member for the School of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences at Dominican College, San Rafael, CA, and a founding member and chaplain coordinator for First Responders Support Network.

What do you like most about your job?

I get to enjoy the privilege of helping people at the most important times of their lives.

What do you like least about your job?

Nothing.

How does your family feel about you being in law enforcement?

They are very proud of me and supportive.  (I think they live vicariously through me in this exciting field!)

Do you think the consensus is that law enforcement is a man’s job? If so, have you had difficulty being accepted as an equal?

I worried about that at first because men are slow to trust.  I decided men wouldn’t trust me if they didn’t know me, and the only way they were going to get to know me is if I were around.  I started being around all the time.  Armed with a good sense of humor and a reputation for honoring confidentiality, I slowly became in like Flynn.  When you start to get teased in briefings, you know you are home free.  It was pointed out that I, also, can hug them – and they willingly respond in kind.

What would you like the public to know about your job?

That I serve a population who put their lives on the line every time they walk out the door.  They see and witness things no one should have to, and, without support it can take a toll on them.  They deserve everyone’s support and caring.  P.S.  They are superb drivers!

If you had to do it over again, would you choose law enforcement as a career?

In a minute!

Is there anything else you would like to share?

Thank you, John, for highlighting this amazing profession.  It is a privilege and a joy.

Comments
  1. A Police Chaplain is such an important component of any agency. Sounds like Rev Jan Heglund is an invaluable member of her department.

  2. Flo de Losada says:

    Rev. Jan is the best. A true Chaplain, and friend. Every department needs one. She keeps you grounded.

Leave a comment